Guide Video Games

Diablo 4 Season 1: Release Date, Battle Pass Details

The worldwide launch of Diablo 4 is now complete, providing players with the opportunity to explore Sanctuary, create their optimal character build, and thwart the demon Lilith. At present, the only available content for fans is the game’s launch version, which includes the campaign and endgame/PvP activities. Nevertheless, some fans may be eagerly anticipating the first season of the game, which promises to introduce a plethora of new content.

Although there is limited information available regarding Season 1 of Diablo 4, the Blizzard developers have shared some essential aspects of it, such as the potential contents of the battle pass and the anticipated release timeframe. In the following guide, we will delve into all of the crucial details regarding the battle pass and Season 1 of Diablo 4.

Diablo 4 Season 1 Release Date

Blizzard has stated that Season 1 of Diablo 4 will be released in mid-late July, which is approximately a month and a half after the game’s initial launch on June 6. As June progresses, more official details about the exact release date for Season 1 are expected to be revealed.

Regarding the content of Season 1, players can anticipate new questlines with fresh and returning characters, class and gameplay item balance changes, new legendary items, and additional gameplay features, among other things. However, in order to access Season 1’s offerings, players must first complete Diablo 4’s campaign with at least one character on their account. Blizzard has encouraged players to do this promptly, allowing them to dive right into Season 1 upon its release.

Diablo 4 Battle Pass

Season 1 will include the game’s first battle pass, in addition to all of the other content. Blizzard has emphasized that the battle pass is optional to purchase, and players can access 27 free tiers of content without buying it. If players choose to buy the battle pass, they can unlock those 27 free tiers and an additional 63 paid tiers.

Players can level up their battle pass by playing Diablo 4. Battling demons and monsters, completing dungeons, and participating in endgame content will all earn players battle pass XP, allowing them to progress to the next tier. While players can also use the Season Journey to advance their battle pass more rapidly, it’s worth noting that they will need to start fresh with a new character to access Season 1 content. This detail has caused confusion or even disappointment among some players.

Murmuring Obols are used as a form of currency to purchase cosmetic items, such as pets, portraits, banners, and wings. Meanwhile, Legendary Aspects are special attributes that can be attached to legendary items, enhancing their capabilities. These aspects can be upgraded by completing certain objectives in the Season Journey, allowing players to further enhance their gear and become more powerful.

What Carries From the Main Game

As previously mentioned, players must complete the game at least once with any character before accessing seasonal content. Fortunately, players do not have to replay the campaign to gain access to the said content. Additionally, Blizzard has recently revised some plans regarding which in-game systems would reset with a new season.

Initially, players would have had to rediscover every Altar of Lilith, regain their Renown, and essentially start anew with each new season. Thankfully, this is no longer the case. During a public developer chat, general manager Rod Fergusson announced that players’ progress related to their Renown levels, uncovered world maps, and Altar of Lilith locations would not reset with each new season. Fast-travel waypoints will remain marked on the map, but players will need to revisit them to activate them once again.

Fergusson stated that players will need to redo activities such as dungeons, Strongholds, and certain side quests. However, he mentioned that the team is still rethinking these reset requirements, which implies that further changes may be forthcoming. It’s typical for teams to experiment with new or different live-service elements during the early stages of a game’s life.

The Price

In any live service game, the pricing model used for battle passes can be a source of potential controversy. In Diablo 4, players can choose between two versions: Premium or Accelerated. The Premium version costs 1,000 Platinum ($10), while the Accelerated version costs 2,800 Platinum ($25). If you purchased the Deluxe Edition of Diablo 4, you will automatically unlock the Premium version, whereas Ultimate Edition buyers will receive the Accelerated version. The Accelerated version provides players with 20 tier skips at the outset, as well as an exclusive cosmetic item.

Speaking of cosmetics, Season 1’s Diablo 4 battle pass will be primarily composed of them. Players may earn gold, emotes, character cosmetics, titles, and other rewards. However, there are also tiers that offer Season Boosts and Smoldering Ashes as rewards. Season Boosts are essentially character XP boosters, while Smoldering Ashes are used to unlock Season Blessings. Blessings are buffs that grant players bonus XP, Gold, or Obols when activated.

Players may have numerous Season Blessings active at the same time, allowing them to earn bonus XP, Gold, or Obols simultaneously while playing. However, players must be at a certain character level to activate Season Blessings. This ensures that players cannot “pay-to-win” by purchasing tier skips to immediately gain access to gameplay boosts.

Also Read: